Buyer’s guide · 29 CFR 1910.106 · NFPA 30
Best Flammable-Liquid Storage Cabinets for 2026
Prices shown on Amazon on October 13, 2026
Store solvents near the work without giving a fire more fuel.
Three cabinets compared · Capacities from 12 to 30 gallons
The Justrite 892300 is our best overall choice for most point-of-use storage. It holds 22 gallons, fits beneath many standard-height counters, and lists FM approval, a leak-tested sump, and a 10-year manufacturer warranty.
Choose the Jamco 12-gallon cabinet when floor space matters more than capacity. Choose the Global Industrial 30-gallon cabinet when your fire code or insurer requires self-closing doors.
Before ordering, verify three things: how many gallons you need to store, whether self-closing doors are required, and whether your fire marshal or insurer requires a listed approval.


The Short Answer
Best overall: Justrite 892300
- Capacity: 22 gallons
- Doors: Manual close
- Listed approval: FM approved
- Dimensions: 35 × 22 × 35 inches
- Price: $1,203.93
- Warranty: 10 years
Buy this if: You need documented approval and dependable undercounter storage for a maintenance area, laboratory, or production cell.
Check the Justrite Cabinet on Amazon
Best for tight spaces: Jamco 12-Gallon Cabinet
- Capacity: 12 gallons
- Doors: Manual close
- Listed approval: FM 6050
- Dimensions: 24 × 22 × 35 inches
- Price: $1,100
Buy this if: You only keep a few containers at the workstation and cannot fit a 35-inch-wide cabinet.
Check the Jamco Cabinet on Amazon
Best self-closing option: Global Industrial 30-Gallon Cabinet
- Capacity: 30 gallons
- Doors: Self-closing
- Listed approval: Not stated in the Amazon listing
- Dimensions: 43 × 18 × 44 inches
- Price: $1,101.21 from other sellers
Buy this if: Your jurisdiction or insurer requires self-closing doors—but confirm the steel gauge and required approvals with the seller before ordering.
Check the Global Industrial Cabinet on Amazon
Compare the Cabinets
Specifications and prices are based on Amazon listings shown on October 13, 2026.
| Cabinet | Capacity | Doors | Listed approval | Dimensions | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justrite 892300 | 22 gal | Manual close | FM approved | 35 × 22 × 35 in. | $1,203.93 |
| Jamco | 12 gal | Manual close | FM 6050; listing states NFPA 30 conformance | 24 × 22 × 35 in. | $1,100 |
| Global Industrial | 30 gal | Self-closing | Not stated | 43 × 18 × 44 in. | $1,101.21 from other sellers |
Buy for Your Inventory and Fire Code
A larger cabinet is not automatically a better purchase.
Choose a cabinet based on:
- The volume of flammable liquid kept at that work area
- The sizes and shapes of the containers
- Available floor or undercounter space
- Manual-close versus self-closing door requirements
- Required third-party approvals
- Compatibility of the chemicals being stored
- Room for normal inventory growth
Buy enough capacity for the liquids you actually keep at the point of use. Do not turn unused cabinet space into an excuse to accumulate more material than the operation needs.
Know the Storage Limits Before You Order
Under 29 CFR 1910.106(d)(3), a single storage cabinet may contain no more than:
- 60 gallons of Category 1, 2, or 3 flammable liquids
- 120 gallons of Category 4 flammable liquids
Older terminology and some references describe these limits as 60 gallons of Class I or Class II liquids and 120 gallons of Class III liquids.
These are maximum limits, not recommended inventory levels. Other rules may restrict the number of cabinets permitted in one fire area, and state or local fire codes may impose stricter requirements.
If you need to store more than the permitted quantity, adding a larger cabinet is not the answer. You may need multiple cabinets, a properly designed storage room, or another approved storage arrangement.
What Makes a Flammable-Liquid Cabinet Different?
A compliant metal cabinet is designed to resist fire exposure and help contain spilled liquid.
29 CFR 1910.106 describes metal cabinets constructed with:
- Steel at least 18 gauge
- Double walls
- A 1½-inch air space between the walls
- Riveted, welded, or equally tight joints
- A door sill at least two inches high
- A clear “Flammable—Keep Fire Away” warning
The Justrite and Jamco listings provide construction and approval details. The Amazon listing reviewed for the Global Industrial cabinet does not state its steel gauge or third-party approval. Confirm those details if your fire marshal, insurer, or company standard requires documentation.
Manual or Self-Closing Doors?
OSHA’s general-industry flammable-liquid standard does not universally require cabinet doors to close automatically.
State and local fire codes may.
Some jurisdictions use codes that require self-closing, self-latching doors. Insurers and company standards may also impose requirements beyond the federal OSHA rule.
Before buying a manual-close cabinet:
- Ask the local fire marshal which code applies.
- Check your insurer’s requirements.
- Review your company’s fire-prevention and chemical-storage policies.
- Confirm whether the cabinet needs a specific third-party listing.
The wrong door type can turn a good cabinet into an expensive purchasing mistake.
1. Justrite 892300 22-Gallon Undercounter Cabinet
2. Jamco 12-Gallon Flammable-Liquid Cabinet
3. Global Industrial 30-Gallon Self-Closing Cabinet
Match the Cabinet to the Workplace
| Your situation | Recommended cabinet |
|---|---|
| You want documented approval and undercounter storage | Justrite 892300 |
| You have a narrow space and limited inventory | Jamco 12-gallon |
| Your code or insurer requires self-closing doors | Global Industrial 30-gallon |
| You want FM approval documented in the listing | Justrite or Jamco |
| You need to store more than the permitted amount in one cabinet | Use additional compliant storage or an approved storage room |
| You store acids, bases, or incompatible chemicals | Use the correct chemical cabinet—not one of these flammable-liquid cabinets |
Avoid These Common Buying Mistakes
Ordering before counting your inventory
Add up the actual volume stored at the work area. Include containers that are normally present, not just the amount used during one shift.
Buying manual-close doors without checking local requirements
A federal OSHA rule may allow a configuration that your state or local fire code does not.
Assuming every yellow cabinet is compliant
Color does not establish construction, performance, or approval. Review the specifications and documentation.
Treating the cabinet as unlimited storage
Cabinet capacity does not override OSHA limits, local fire codes, or restrictions on the number of cabinets in a fire area.
Mixing incompatible chemicals
A flammable-liquid cabinet is not the correct place for every hazardous chemical. Acids, bases, oxidizers, and other incompatible materials may require separate storage.
Venting the cabinet automatically
Vents are commonly supplied with flame arrestors and plugs. Do not remove the plugs simply because the openings are present.
Vent only when required by the authority having jurisdiction, and use a properly designed system that exhausts to an appropriate location.
Installation Questions
How much can I store in one cabinet?
Under 29 CFR 1910.106(d)(3), the cabinet limit is generally 60 gallons of Category 1, 2, or 3 flammable liquids or 120 gallons of Category 4 flammable liquids.
State and local requirements may be stricter.
Do I need self-closing doors?
Federal OSHA requirements do not universally require them, but many state and local fire codes do. Ask the local fire marshal before ordering a manual-close model.
Is an FM-approved cabinet “OSHA approved”?
OSHA does not approve individual cabinets.
FM approval indicates that the cabinet was evaluated under the applicable FM Approvals standard. The Amazon listings reviewed for the Justrite and Jamco cabinets state FM approval.
Should I vent the cabinet?
Normally, the vent openings remain plugged unless the authority having jurisdiction requires ventilation.
Improper venting may affect the cabinet’s ability to resist fire. If venting is required, use a properly designed duct system that exhausts to a suitable outdoor location.
Can I store corrosive chemicals in these cabinets?
These cabinets are intended for flammable liquids. Acids and bases require compatible corrosive-storage cabinets, and incompatible chemicals should not be stored together.
Where should I install the cabinet?
Place it near the point of use while maintaining required access to exits and separation from ignition sources. Install it on a stable, level surface.
Follow applicable bonding and grounding procedures when dispensing flammable liquids.
Is cabinet grounding always required?
A grounding connector does not automatically mean every cabinet must be grounded in every situation. Bonding and grounding become particularly important during liquid-transfer operations.
Follow your employer’s procedures and the requirements for the containers and dispensing process being used.
Our Recommendation
For most maintenance areas, laboratories, and production cells, the Justrite 892300 offers the strongest combination of usable capacity, documented construction, FM approval, spill control, and warranty coverage.
It stores up to 22 gallons in an undercounter configuration and was listed at $1,203.93 on Amazon on October 13, 2026.
Before ordering:
- Total the flammable liquids normally kept at the work area.
- Check the required cabinet door type with your fire marshal.
- Confirm any approval requirements from your insurer.
- Measure the installation space.
- Verify that the chemicals can be stored together safely.
- Buy the smallest compliant cabinet that holds the required inventory with reasonable room for growth.
Check the Justrite 892300 on Amazon